Follow my leader

When I told my younger daughter I was confined to the Slough of Despond for a while, she said I’d been here for years. Very insightful, but not quite right. I’d been living on the fringes for years, true. I’d followed her, like a trail of breadcrumbs she dropped behind her, as she ventured further and further in over the last two or more years. Like the breadcrumbs, I turned out to be no way for her to find her path back. Then she jumped over the cliff and I tumbled down after her. And soon after the ground fell away beneath me – or, rather, I was forced to walk the plank – and the pit really did prove to be bottomless. Sometimes I think I’m still falling, and will be falling always. I left no trail of breadcrumbs.

Leave a Reply

