Sludge

The floor was hard in my old room, so that I could crash down to earth with a bump every morning. I can’t see the floor in this new room as it’s covered with a nasty, grey-green sludge. I asked about it. The cleaner says it’s Apathy. It leaks in from the Slough (which, remember, is a bog). The Apathy makes it very difficult to move around or do anything. I’ve tried pouring some Spare Time into it and stirring it up a bit, but that doesn’t make it any thinner. It will absorb any amount of time and still be just as thick and sticky. It makes it such an effort even to lift my feet, so I don’t go far.

Leave a Reply

