Going up and looking down

Exploring the Slough I found I was walking uphill, which in itself was no surprise as everywhere I go outside my room involves going through somewhere called Uphill Struggle. But this was different as it leveled off to a plateau. Apparently, it is the Moral High Ground – there is rather a pompous sign labeling it. The place was abandoned, as far as I could see, so I have decided to inhabit it for a while. It will make a change.

The Moral High Ground overlooks a foetid swamp, which may be part of the Depths of Stupidity. I think from what I can see it probably is, though it could be somewhere I’ve heard of called Moral Turpitude.  There is a slippery slope around the edges, so that even the most intelligent person could fall into it if they were not looking where they were going, were lazy, or were just stumbling blindly through the Slough.

It would be quite easy to slip from the Moral High Ground into the Depths of Stupidity, so I shall put up a guard rail around my position. Luckily, there is no chance of the long-term wallowers in the Depths even noticing the MHD, never mind trying to assault it, so I can stay here and watch the Stupid flailing in the mire until it gets boring. But I suppose that’s a bit like paying a penny to visit Bedlam – not very enlightened. One should be compassionate, really, especially towards the few who are not stupid but just slipped. It doesn’t promise to be a particularly good show, anyway – they don’t have any imagination. Flights of Fancy go right over them, but they never look up. I’m not sure I can be bothered.

Leave a Reply

