Amongst the killer lorries

He taught my daughter to ride her bike – he took the stabilisers off and ran after her or held his arms out for her to cycle to him. With his love and patience, her trust and bravery, she learned.

And with me, too. He took away the stabilisers and led me out into the middle of the busy road. But then he walked away, and the lorries rush by and I don’t know if I can really do this stuff at all.

So I dodge the traffic, weave between the killer juggernauts, and wait to see if I’ll be squashed, make it to the kerb, or learn to ride after all.

Leave a Reply

