Up or down?

I have come to somewhere called Turning Point. It seems to be in the deepest part of the Slough, and I’m not quite sure how I got here on a short walk from somewhere that seemed relatively pleasant. There are unseen twists and turns in the paths here and you can never be quite sure where each road leads.

I thought I was on a path that went upwards, but it seems to have been a kind of ski jump – up only to launch me into (or over) the abyss. I was never very good at ski jumping, and it usually ended up as ‘into’. I’d become too complacent, clearly; I wasn’t looking where I was going.

So up or down? I have no enthusiasm for the climb; it’s always easier to go downhill. But where is down, from here?

Leave a Reply

