Glimpsing other rooms

I caught a train to London and had dinner with a dear friend. Not normally a drawn to the Slough, she’s been in and out over the last few years.

She also was abandoned by someone afraid to face challenges, unwilling to try to work together to find a solution but who only ran away, whose intelligence seemed curiously to warp into stupidity when it really mattered. She also has a daughter whose excursions into the Slough have veered too close to the precipitous cliffs. But in addition she is desperately ill. I am not desperately ill. I have not lost my house and my job. I am not about to move alone into an area where I know no-one. I have quite a luxurious bit of the Slough, by comparison. I am shamed and will try again to pack my bags.

Leave a Reply

