Marcantonio Bragadin

MB got in a bit of a kerfuffle with the Turks in August 1571. They beat him, flayed him alive and then stuffed his skin with straw and paraded it around the streets of Constantinople.

I’m not sure what the managers of the Slough did with my skin when I got here, newly flayed. They gave me a blanket, but I’m going to have to give it back. I need to grow a new skin. It’s still very thin and tender, but I don’t want it welded to this blanket. That would make me a permanent resident of the Slough and I’m really not suited to living here. The rain stings, even the air stings – but I hereby hand back my blanket.

Leave a Reply

