Navigating Charybdis

It’s as though I have to navigate tumultuous and treacherous seas every day. Some days the weather is relatively calm and I can cross the straits with comparative ease and safety. Sometimes the sea is wild and hurricanes threaten to sink my ship or smash it against the rocks.

Slowly I am learning the more reliable paths and remembering where the worst currents run. I can’t always skirt around the currents, but I’m getting better at predicting them. Every day, backwards and forwards across the same straits, eventually it may become a routine and safe trip. Or maybe one day the weather will clear a little.

Leave a Reply

